Dr. Christine Allen

Dr. Christine Allen

dr christine allen

Christine Allen is a Professor and the inaugural Associate Vice-President and Vice-Provost Strategic Initiatives at the University of Toronto. She completed her doctoral research in the Department of Chemistry at McGill University and post-doctoral research in the Department of Advanced Therapeutics at the B.C. Cancer Agency. She joined the University of Toronto in 2002 and has established a leading research group focused on the design of innovative materials and drug delivery technologies with over 140 peer-reviewed publications in her field. She is co-founder of Nanovista Inc., a J&J Innovations JLabs company developing multi-modal visualization agents for high precision image-guided cancer therapy. She has received career awards from CIHR/Rx&D, the Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences (CSPS) and the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada. She is a fellow of CSPS, the Controlled Release Society and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS). Christine is President of CSPS and a member of the Governing Council and Executive Committee of NSERC. She is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Controlled Release, a pre-eminent journal in pharmaceutics and drug delivery. Christine is a member of the Toronto Initiative for Diversity and Excellence and a strong advocate for equity, diversity and inclusion in research and innovation. In 2019, she launched the book club “Women in STEM: Leading and Reading” for faculty, staff and students at the University of Toronto.

  • Full Professor (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2014-Present)
  • GlaxoSmithKline Chair in Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2014-Present)
  • Associate Dean, Graduate Education (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2014-2015)
  • Interim Associate Dean, Graduate Education (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2013-2014)
  • Associate Professor (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2007-2014)

Cross-Appointment in Department of Chemical Engineering  and Applied Chemistry, University of Toronto

  • Faculty (STTARR Innovation Centre, University Health Network, 2008-Present)
  • Associate Dean, Academic (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2012)
  • Interim Associate Dean, Academic (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2011)
  • Visiting Scientist (STTARR Innovation Centre, University Health Network, 2009-2010)
  • Assistant Professor (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, 2002-2007)
  • Associate Director (Molecular Design and Information Technology Center, 2002-2006)
  • Assistant Director Materials Research (Celator Pharmaceuticals Corp., 2002)
  • Research Scientist II (IRAP Project Leader) (Celator Pharmaceuticals Corp., 2001-2002)
  • NSERC Post-Doctoral Fellow (Department of Advanced Therapeutics, B.C. Cancer Agency, 2000-2001 Supervisors: Dr. Marcel Bally and Dr. Lawrence Mayer)
  • Post-Doctoral Fellow (Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of British Columbia, 2000 Supervisor: Dr. Helen Burt)
  • 2014 Gattefossé Canada/CSPS Award in Lipid-Based Drug Delivery (Dou Y.N., Zheng J., Foltz W.D., Weersink R., Chaudary N., Jaffray D.A., Allen C. Heat-activated Thermosensitive Liposomal Cisplatin (HTLC) Results in Effective Growth Delay of Cervical Carcinoma in Mice. Journal of Controlled Release 2014, 178:69-78 (PubMed link))
  • 2011 CRS/Elsevier Journal of Controlled Release Jorge Heller Award for Outstanding Paper (Dunne M., Zheng J., Rosenblat J., Jaffray D.A., Allen C. APN/CD13-Targeting as a Strategy to Alter the Tumor Accumulation of Liposomes. Journal of Controlled Release2011, 154:298-305 (PubMed link))
  • Innovation Award (Ontario Research and Commercialization Program, 2008)
  • Career Award (Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)/Rx&D, 2004-2009)
  • New Investigator Research Award (Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada (AFPC)/AstraZeneca, 2006)
  • Early Career Award (Canadian Society for Pharmaceuticals Sciences (CSPS)/GlaxoSmithKline, 2006)
  • Deputy Chair, Annual Meeting Program Committee (Controlled Release Society (CRS), 2015-2016)
  • Treasurer-Elect (Controlled Release Society (CRS), 2015-2016)
  • Secretary (Controlled Release Society (CRS), 2014-2015)
  • Associate Editor (Molecular Pharmaceutics, 2013-Present)
  • Elected Member, Board of Directors (Controlled Release Society (CRS), 2012-2015)
  • Member, Grant Review Panel, Biomaterials and Biointerfaces Study Section (National Institutes of Health (NIH), 2011-2017)
  • Elected Member, Executive Committee  (Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences (CSPS), 2011-2013)
  • Member, Editorial Advisory Board (Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2010-Present)
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board (Controlled Release Society (CRS), 2009-Present)
  • Member, Editorial Advisory Board (Drug Delivery, 2009-Present)
  • Ph.D. in Chemistry – Dean’s Honours List McGill University, 1995-2000
    Dissertation: Polycaprolactone-b-poly(ethelene oxide) copolymer micelles: Physico-chemical characterization and application in drug delivery
  • B.Sc. in Biochemistry – Summa Cum Laude, Dean’s Honours List University of Ottawa, 1991-1995